This website uses cookies to function correctly.
You may delete cookies at any time but doing so may result in some parts of the site not working correctly.



A Message from Dr Black

After 32 years I have decided to call it a day before I overstay my welcome!  It has been a pleasure and privilege to serve at Betts and I take with me so many happy memories.

General Practice has changed immeasurably over the course of my carer - not always for the better!

Looking back my greatest satisfaction has come from delivering old style family medicine. Many of the children I looked after as babies in 1980's and 1990's are now parents in their own right.  Indeed together with my father there have been Dr Black's working at this practice for over 60years.

Still nothing goes on forever and it is time for new blood and fresh idea's.

I have every confidence in the long term future of the practice and wish my successors all good fortune.

I shall be leaving the practice on Monday 5th February but until then it is business as usual!

With all good wishes

David Black

Practice Management

Julie Wade (f)

Practice Manager

Julie is responsible for all general management functions and advising on practice policies within national and local guidelines.

Margaret O'Neill (f)

Assistant Practice Manager

Margaret is responsible for deputising in the absence of the Practice Manager and is the lead for Complaints.


Ms Katherine Gallagher (f)

Supervisor - Kenton Branch

Miss Kathleen Kenny (f)

Supervisor - Benwell Branch

Miss Rachel Campbell (f)

Deputy Supervisor - Kenton Branch

Mrs Raluca Rayner (f)

Deputy Supervisor - Benwell Branch

Mrs Lisa Wilkinson (f)

Administration Lead


As your first point of contact the reception staff are responsible for arranging the work for the day, making appointments, taking calls and maintaining notes and records.

Miss Kelsey Anderson (f)

Kenton Branch

Mrs Lynsey Forward (f)

Benwell Branch

Mrs Elizabeth Jones (f)

Kenton Branch

Miss Victoria Hetherington (f)

Benwell Branch

Miss Katie Moore (f)

Kenton and Benwell Branches

Mrs Sharon Merrilees (f)

Benwell Branch

Mrs Jane Miller (f)

Benwell Branch

Miss Samantha Moulding (f)

Kenton Branch

Mrs Katherine Thompson (f)

Kenton Branch


Ms Carol Askew (f)

Based at Benwell Branch

Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website